MAKE & BAKE: Last-Minute Christmas Containers DIY!

Hey guys!

Amy here – considering the fact it’s Christmas Eve, I decided to do a Festive Special version of our new MAKE & BAKE series. I was folding up a Tinkerbell dress for my baby cousin this morning (I’m always doing things at the last minute… :D) and was wondering how to pack up the five wands I bought to go with it (she breaks everything… it’s good to have back-ups!) when I remembered my school’s Christmas Party origami boxes.

They’re a great way to keep special things like jewellery or secret snacks (*wink, wink!*) safe so they don’t get lost and stuff.
A couple of you are probably like me – last minute wrappers – so I decided to share my secret with you!

YOU WILL NEED:

  • Depending on how big you want your model to be, a piece of paper or card (card is stronger and better for food) no smaller than A4 cut into the biggest square possible (remember, ALL SIDES MUST BE EQUAL!)
  • A big, clean table
  • Washed hands
  • Long fingernails!

METHOD:

  1. Fold an origami Blintz Base (click here to find out how!).
    Easy Origami Box Folding Instructions
  2. Open up the paper.
    Easy Origami Box Folding Instructions 2
  3. Fold in the four corners to the first diagonal line they hit, as I will show below.
    Easy Origami Box Folding Instructions 3
  4. Now you need to fold the four corners in once again. Be sure to check my pictures of how to do this – because I got it quite wrong when I didn’t understand them.
    Easy Origami Box Folding Instructions 4
  5. Flip the paper over to the back.
    (I didn’t include a picture for this because it’s kinda obvious…)
  6. Rotate the paper slightly so that you see a square. Then fold both the top and bottom halves to the centre. Crease well and unfold.
    Easy Origami Box Folding Instructions 5
  7. Similar to before, now fold the left and right sides to the middle line. Crease well but, this time, do NOT unfold.
  8. This is where things get a little tricky: bring the top flap over from the right to the left.
    Easy Origami Box Folding Instructions 6
  9. Fold the top and bottom right corners on the diagonal shown below.
    Easy Origami Box Folding Instructions 7
  10. Now bring both flaps over from the left to the right.
    Easy Origami Box Folding Instructions 8
  11. Yet again, fold these small corners over, like the right ones before.
  12. Now bring only the top flap over from the right to the left.
    Easy Origami Box Folding Instructions 9
  13. Here comes the final, funnest part: shaping our origami box! Pry the paper open with your fingers.
    Easy Origami Box Folding Instructions 10
  14. Straighten the sides carefully and, like magic, you have your origami box! 😀
    Easy Origami Box Folding Instructions RESULT!
  15. If you made your box with card, you can now decorate it with felt tips or stick on coloured paper shapes. DO NOT DRAW ON A PAPER VERSION – it will sog into the material and make the box collapse!

I hope you enjoyed making this last-minute Christmas Container!

🙂
Amy Flutterfly

P.S.: I got all of this from http://www.origami-instructions.com/easy-origami-box.html. I am not taking credit for any of this idea. I do not mean to violate any copyrighted pictures/instructions – I was merely sharing how to make this wonder.
